Thursday, July 13, 2006

Bush nominates a war criminal for a judgeship


As General Counsel of the Department of Defense, Mr. Haynes helped to formulate policies governing detainee interrogation and detention that violated U.S. and international law. He recommended that detainees in Guantanamo could be subjected to abusive interrogation techniques, including stripping them naked, depriving them of light, forcing them into stress positions, forcibly shaving them, and using dogs to intimidate them. He also advised that using wet towels and dripping water to make the detainees believe they are suffocating (waterboarding) and threatening them and their families with death might be "legally available" options.

Of course Bush wants a guy like that to be a judge.

I don't care if you're a Democrat or a Republican. Unless you're Torquemada you should oppose the nomination of this legal piece of pond scum.

Look at the Left End of the Dial, or kos. This clown's list goes on and on.

I don't see how anybody can even QUESTION the fact that Bush has a weird sociopathic love-affair with torture. The American Press doesn't want to see it, but it's pretty damned hard to miss.

This nomination is NOT a rubber stamp. Democrats may actually try and block this one, maybe even with Republican help.

If you want to send something to your Senator from a religious perspective, try this one.

Even better, here are the phone numbers of the members of the Senate Judiciary Committee, list courtesy of kos:

Minority Members (Democrats)

Patrick J. Leahy (D-VT)
[Ranking Member]

202-224-4242 202-224-3479

Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA)
202-224-4543 202-224-2417

Joseph R. Biden, Jr. (D-DE)
202-224-5042 202-224-0139

Herb Kohl (D-WI) >br> 202-224-5653 202-224-9787

Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
202-224-3841 202-228-3954

Russell D. Feingold (D-WI)
202-224-5323 202-224-2725

Charles Schumer (D-NY)
202-224-6542 202-228-3027

Richard J. Durbin (D-IL)
202-224-2152 202-228-0400

Majority Members (Republicans)

Arlen Specter (R-PA) [Chairman]
202-224-4254 202-228-1229

Orrin G. Hatch (R-UT)
202-224-5251 202-224-6331

Charles E. Grassley (R-IA)
202-224-3744 202-224-6020

Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
202-224-4521 202-224-2207
Contact. Mike DeWine (R-OH)
202-224-2315 202-224-6519

Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
202-224-4124 202-224-3149

Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
202-224-5972 202-224-3808

John Cornyn (R-TX)
202-224-2934 202-228-2856

Sam Brownback (R-KS)
202-224-6521 202-228-1265

Tom Coburn (R-OK)
202-224-5754 202-224-6008

No comments: